We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies from this website.
what are cookies?
Shortlist revealed for Ei Group’s national award scheme

Ei Group, the UK’s largest pub company, has announced the shortlist for its Awards for Excellence – its revitalised awards programme that recognises the outstanding publicans in its estate, and operational excellence across the company.

The entries were open to publicans across the UK that are part of the Ei Publican Partnerships portfolio. The shortlisted pubs will now go forward to an in-depth judging day with a number of industry experts and senior figures.

Nick Light, Managing Director for Ei Publican Partnerships, said: “This award scheme is a fantastic opportunity not only for us to celebrate our outstanding operators across the estate, but also for our publicans to learn from the best and inspire others to continue raising their business profile.

“The standard of entries we have received are truly exceptional and demonstrate the high calibre of pubs we have within our portfolio. We look forward to an exciting awards night and wish the best of luck to the shortlisted pubs – it’s going to be a tough decision!”

The Lifetime Achievement Award and Ei Group Pub of the Year will be announced on the night, along with category winners, at a gala awards ceremony at Coombe Abbey, Warwickshire on 10 July 2018.

The shortlist

Best community hub:
Brook Inn, Plymouth
Keel Row, Seaton Delaval
Royal Oak, Winsford
Royal Oak Inn, Appleby-In-Westmorland
Lion Hotel, Treorchy
Horse & Jockey Hotel, Liverpool

Best food offer:
Greyhound, Corfe Castle (dish pictured)
Horse & Jockey Hotel, Liverpool
Alford Arms, Frithsden
Miller of Mansfield, Goring
Milk House, Sissinghurst
Fleur De Lys, Pilley

Best joint investment:
Duke William, Bailgate
Buck Inn, Malham
Snooty Fox Tavern, Kirkby Lonsdale
Cayley Flyer, Rhos On Sea
Forrests Arms, Longridge
Victoria Hotel, Walshaw

Best live music venue:
Antelope, High Wycombe
Boileroom, Guildford
Anchor Inn, Wingham
Witton Chimes, Northwich
Big Red, Islington
Hootananny, Brixton

Best marketing initiative:
Jet Miners Inn, Gt Broughton
White Horse, Dover
Lion Hotel, Treorchy
Crooked Billet, Saxton
Bulls Head Inn, Brinklow
Boogaloo, Highgate

Best multiple operator:
Chris Bulaitis
Robert Thompson
Mark Oldfield
Joy Cooke and Adam Edmeades
Matt Bonilla
Bruno Nunes

Best newcomer:
Tally Ho Inn, Exeter
Plough, Skellingthorpe
Black Horse, Monkseaton
Beggar & Gentleman, Hoyland
Wheatsheaf Inn, Malmesbury
Leigham Well, Streatham

Best outdoor area:
Antelope, High Wycombe
Culpeper, Aldgate
Fox Inn, Thrapston
Lion Hotel, Treorchy
Chequers, Laddingford
Milk House, Sissinghurst

Best sports venue:
Milford Arms, Isleworth
Terrace, York
Lion Hotel, Treorchy
Directors Box, Manchester
New Crown Hotel, Bridlington
Umbrella, Cheltenham

Best turnaround:
Tally Ho Inn, Exeter
White Horse, Dover
Directors Box, Manchester
Horse & Jockey Hotel, Liverpool
Bulls Head Inn, Brinklow
Catherine Wheel, Newbury

Excellence in cellar standards:
Staffordshire Bull, Stafford
British Oak, Blackheath London
Alexandra Hotel, Liverpool
Cleveland Bay Hotel, Redcar
Bell Inn, Ash
Crown Old, Basingstoke
Star Inn, Pershore
Festival, Coventry
Globe, Luton

Judges include:
Brigid Simmonds, CEO of the BBPA
John Longden, Founder of Pub is The Hub
Ed Bedington, Editor of the Morning Advertiser
Mike Clist, CEO of the BII
Tristan O'Hana, Editor of Pub&Bar Magazine
Liz Gaffer, Director of Marketing and Charity Services at the Licensed Trade Charity
Kate Nicholls, CEO of UKHospitality
Robyn Black, Editor at InaPub
Francis Patton, Industry Expert

James Wallin, Editor at MCA