Hospitality superstars honoured at Springboard Awards for Excellence 2024

Twenty winners of the Springboard Awards for Excellence 2024 have been announced at a prestigious ceremony hosted by comedian Simon Brodkin at the InterContinental Park Lane.

Delivered in partnership with headline sponsor IHG, the awards celebrated those that have gone above and beyond to grow their organisations, look after their people and champion the industry.

The evening began with the Fiona Colley Trainee of the Year Award, sponsored by Savoy Educational Trust. Winner Sophie Pace-Balzan was recognised for showing tenacity and passion to overcome challenges which had previously prevented her from finding employment.

Steve Munkley, David Mulcahy and Brian Turner received the Chris Beaumont Outstanding Achievement Award to honour their 25 years of support for the FutureChef school cooking competition and supporting the next generation of culinary talent.
Eden Hotel Collection, Rare Restaurants and Z Hotels were also double winners on the night, while Sodexo scooped the new Partner of the Year award.

The 2024 Awards for Excellence raised a total of £175,310 for the Springboard Charity through sponsorship, tickets sales and fundraising on the night.

Chris Gamm, chief executive of Springboard, said: “In congratulating the winners of the Springboard Awards for Excellence, we recognise the remarkable achievements within the hospitality industry. These awards create a brilliant occasion for us to come together and acknowledge the outstanding contributions of our industry highlighting their exceptional successes and highly talented teams.

“Once again, the support in the room for the finalists and winners was outstanding. The InterContinental Park Lane has provided us with the perfect setting to be together, offer our congratulations and to celebrate the greatness of our industry.

The more than £175,000 raised was a record for the event and will help an enormous number of people gain news skills and secure work in the hospitality industry.”


Fiona Colley Trainee of the Year Award – sponsored by Savoy Educational Trust
• Sophie Pace-Balzan

Best Recruitment Initiative Award – sponsored by
• Z Hotels

Best Apprenticeship Strategy Award – sponsored by HIT Training
• Greene King

Employee Engagement Award – sponsored by Boyes Turner
• Eden Hotel Collection

Best Training Programme Award – sponsored by Blastness
• Leonardo Hotels

Career Development Initiative Award – sponsored by Diageo
• RARE Restaurants

Best Use of Technology Award – sponsored by MAPAL Group
• The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Talent Development Team of the Year Award – sponsored by Hospitality Jobs UK
• Z Hotels

Employee Health and Wellbeing Award – sponsored by Hand Picked Hotels
• Eden Hotel Collection

Community Engagement Award – sponsored by 5 Hertford Street & Oswald’s
• Aurora Foxes

Disability Champion Award – sponsored by Sodexo
• Hilton

Diversity, Equality and Inclusion Award – sponsored by CH&CO
• RARE Restaurants

Best Education and Industry Partnership Award – sponsored by San Carlo
• Academy by Simon Rogan

Sustainable Business Award – sponsored by Franke Coffee Systems
• Apex Hotels

Springboard Ambassador of the Year – sponsored by BaxterStorey
• Kyle Basnett, Gusto Restaurants

Best Employer Award – sponsored by Coca-Cola Europacific Partners
• The Belfry Hotel & Resort

Partner of the Year – sponsored by IHG Hotel & Resorts
• Sodexo

Chris Beaumont Outstanding Contribution Award – sponsored by Bidfood
• Steve Munkley
• David Mulcahy
• Brian Turner