Hospital Caterers Association announces shortlist for annual awards

The national trade body of hospital caterers, Hospital Caterers Association (HCA), has announced the shortlist for its annual awards ceremony due to take place at the President’s Awards Dinner at the HCA Forum in Liverpool on Thursday 2 April 2020.

The awards recognise outstanding commitment and dedication in healthcare catering and patient service. It inspires and encourages professional excellence across catering services covered by HCA members.This year’s competition features the new National Leadership Excellence award, which was created to champion and celebrate leaders within the industry.

Craig Smith, Chair of the HCA, commented, “We are always so impressed by the calibre of the entries. This year we found it particularly difficult to choose from so many great nominees, so I want to say a huge congratulations to our finalists.”

The shortlist
Catering Service of the Year
(sponsored by NH Case):
Deborah McNeil for Acute Catering South Eastern Trust
Stuart Donald for Aberdeen Royal Infirmary & Royal Aberdeen Children’s Hospital
Nicola McIvor for NHS Ayrshire & Arran

Efficiency & Improvement Award (sponsored by Hefma)
Tony O’Hara for South Eastern Trust
Chris Neale/Nicola Strawther for Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust
Joe Gilbey for NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde
Catering Strategy Team for NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde

National Leadership Excellence Award
Mrs Karen McLaughlin for Northern Health & Social Care Trust
Chris Neale for Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

Winners for all other awards – Special Recognition Award, Caterer of the Year, Wilma Wilkie Award, Rising Star, Chairman’s Choice and Trade Stand awards – will be announced on the night.